RSS

“Don’t Try To Sell Me Your Fear”

08 Mar

Some Tracey Emin’s comments on feminism to mark “International Women’s Day 2015” 

(via: Phaidon Press) “…The press was cruel, because they didn’t just dislike my work; they disliked me, personally—my voice, the way I dress, the way I look, my attitude. I’m sure they wouldn’t have carried on that way if I were a man. I’m absolutely convinced of that.” In response to Christensen’s question:  You think that you were reviewed more critically because you’re a woman? Emin replies: “Yes,” adding, “When someone tells me I can’t do something, I say, “Yes, I can. Watch me.” And I think that can annoy some people. You know that double standard: when men shout, they’re ‘taking charge’ or ‘giving orders,’ but when women shout, they’re ‘screaming.’ It’s that kind of cliché.”

Tracy Emin

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 8, 2015 in art, history of popular culture

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
